Explore Videos MSDN eNews Connect
Startup
Windows
Web
Phone
Cloud
Visual Studio
Security
ALM
Breakpoint
Canada Does Windows Azure
More
The latest on developer tools and technologies you care about.

Sign Up
Latest Edition
Previous Editions  
Stay connected online and offline.

Twitter
Facebook
LinkedIn
User Groups

Developers in Canada You Should Follow on Twitter

Developers in Canada You Should Follow on Twitter

  • Comments 14

Earlier today, David Yardy (@dyardy) sent me the following tweet:

As a Developer Evangelist for Microsoft Canada, I want to make sure that I’m staying on top of what’s happening in the Canadian technical community. To do this, I leverage a variety of events, sites, and tools. Among these, of course, is Twitter. (Follow me! I’m @jbristowe!) Here’s a list of some of the developers in Canada that I follow (and so should you):

This list is, by no means, exhaustive; I’m sure I’ve missed a few folks. However, I think this list demonstrates the connected-ness of the technical community. The bottom line is this: There is an awesome developer community in Canada. There are extremely talented individuals, working hard to build software that can change the world.

Outside of Twitter, there are a number of great places where my team and I stay connected - both in-person and online - with the Canadian technical community. These include TechDays (on now!), EnergizeIT (coming soon!), our Ignite Your Coding webcast series (coming soon!) our vibrant user group community, various groups on Facebook, the Ignite Your Coding LinkedIn group, the MSDN Flash newsletter, and, of course, this blog.

See you online!

Update (3/10/2010 9:13 PM MST): So, clearly I've missed a few folks in this list. A lot of folks have contacted me about this. :) FWIW, this is why I wrote "This list is, by no means, exhaustive; I’m sure I’ve missed a few folks." (above). Clearly, there's a need for me to follow a lot more awesome Canadian developers. If you have a suggestion of someone I've missed, please let me know! Even better, why not let others know by submitting a comment to this post? Remember: Developers in Canada.

Update (4/10/2010 6:00 AM MST): Updated to emphasize the developer community in Canada.

Update (4/10/2010 6:25 AM MST): Brian R. Cline points out that there are a lot of folks listed here who build on our stack and there are a few that don't. Given my role and the likelihood of who I meet while out in the community, I follow the former more prominently than the latter. However, over the years, I've come across some supremely-talented and smart developers who just so happen to not build on our stack. These are developers for whom I have an immense amount of respect. This is why I follow them. I think it's important for me to read what these folks have to say, which is why I've included them here.

Leave a Comment
  • Please add 7 and 2 and type the answer here:
  • Post
  • Thanks for the inclusion John!

  • Your list is missing the best C# ASP.NET developer I know in Toronto, Carol Levesque.

    Her Twitter profile: http://twitter.com/carolfil

  • Wow, impressive list!

  • Thanks John, I'm honoured.

  • Thanks John for the mention!

  • Here are a few additions to boost up the Montreal component of the list.

    Alain Gaeremynck (@sansucre)

    Colin Suprenant (@colinsuprenant)

    Carl Mercier (@cmercier)

    Daniel Haran (@chebuctonian)

    Eric du Carufel (@decarufe)

    Erik Renaud (@erikrenaud)

    Francois Tanguay (@francoistanguay)

    Fred Brunel (@fbrunel)

    Frederic Marceau (@fmarceau)

    Guillaume Theoret (@smokinn)

    Jean-Lou Dupont (@jldupont)

    Martin Cote (@MartinCoteDev)

    Martin Dufort (@mdufort)

    Martin Plante (@MartinPlante)

    Mathieu GD (@tewmgd)

    Maxime Rouiller (@MaximRouiller)

    Pascal Bourque (@bourquep)

    Pascal Paradis (@pparadis)

    Simon Laroche (@simonlaroche)

    Stephane Daury (@stephdau)

  • Very cool list John!  Nice.  Lots of names on there I recognize (confirmation? :>) and some I don't (which is why the list is great!).  Thanks for compiling.  Hope to see my name up there in the future! :>

    LOTS of MVPs on that list, it's great to see lots of CAN MVPs (and quite a few in the Ottawa/Montreal area too!).

    Suggestion?  To categorize them by technology.  But hey, I know, I know, that list you did is a lot of work!  Just compiling the list of 1) names, 2) website URLs (I saw you did that, thanks!) and 3) Twitter URLs.  LOTS of work for 111 names (binary too, coincidence? :>).

    Thanks again!

  • Thank you John for all the effort.

    I have aggregated the twitter names into a twitter list twitter.com/.../cdndevs

    In addition, I have created a blog list of all those above.  This bundle can be used by others to subscribe to as well.

    www.google.com/.../Canadian%20Developers%20via%20%40dyardy

    I will maintain as more names and web sites surface.  I think this is a great opportunity to connect and build a vibrant community.  

    I can be found on Twitter at @dyardy

  • Just a couple of Toronto-based names to add to the list:

    Pete Forde (@peteforde)

    Carsten Nielsen (@heycarsten)

    ...and I'm sure there are more. Let's keep this list updated and post it regularly!

  • Inclusion from London, Ontario:

    Christopher Betlejemski (@tubbythebull)

  • Excellent list! Inclusion from Calgary, Alberta! @eyuzwa

  • What, no love for the php devs? Some more for your list:

    @phronk

    @MarkArteaga

    @SeanJA

    @AndrewEchidna

    @Jrrrrd

    @jerw

    @JohnGBlain

    @picard102

    @SomethingOn

    @joeradman

    @adamdemoor

    @fallenight

    @zE_bEE

    @hendersonsk

    @bulltron_ca

    @Nik_G

    @wmpedersen

    @billdeys

    @3oh6

    @StuartClark

    @JamesWilk

    @RachFee

    @Cottser

    @karolijn

    @kvl

    @revnoah

    @amcgowanca

    @peterjanes

    @late2game

    @gavinblair

    @zoster

    @roleat

  • If you are looking for a web developer role in Canada- please email hshea@sapphireca.com for a varity of IT career options! Follow @SapphireCanada for a live job feed.

  • Great list John!  Here are a couple of West Coasters to add to the list:

    Ryan Storgaard (@mofosto)

    Mitch Barnett (@mitchatola)

Page 1 of 1 (14 items)