image

After several months in public beta, WebMatrix will officially release to the web this Thursday, January 13th, 2011

What is WebMatrix?

WebMatrix is a free offering that provides everything you need to build Web sites using Windows.  It streamlines Web site development and makes it easy to start Web sites from popular ASP.NET and PHP open-source apps.  It includes IIS Express (a development Web server), ASP.NET Web Pages (a scripting friendly Web framework), and SQL Server Compact (an embedded database).  WebMatrix will be localized in 9 languages that will all be available simultaneously on January 13th.

Why use WebMatrix?

Microsoft WebMatrix is a new web development tool that makes it easy for anyone to create a new web site. Users can start from any of the built-in or online templates or any of the free popular open source ASP.NET or PHP web applications, such as WordPress, Joomla!, DotNetNuke or Umbraco, located in the online Web Applications Gallery or use a pre-built website template. Users can customize their site using the code and database editor within WebMatrix. When a user is ready to publish their site, WebMatrix provides access to offers from our hosting partners within the hosting gallery makes it easy to choose the right hosting partner for the app being created with a selection of hosting packages. Once a hosting package is selected and configured, WebMatrix then seamlessly publishes the site and database to the web.

World Wide Launch Event

The main launch event for WebMatrix will be held at CodeMash in Ohio in January 13th.  CodeMash is a community organized event that draws a wide array of web development community members across the ASP.NET, PHP, Ruby, Python and Java communities.

Join the live steaming event Enter the WebMatrix  on January 13, 9:30 am PST/12:30pm EST/ 5:30pm GMT from http://microsoft.com/web/enter.

It’s online, it’s free, and no registration is required.

Learn More