My territory as a Developer Evangelist is within the Southeastern US, specifically Georgia, Alabama, and Mississippi. A recent conversation got me thinking about our most influential bloggers down here. While this is not a scientific survey, I asked several of my friends and peers - who are the bloggers in this area that you read most often?

One side note - and probably a statement about the web itself. Many people said that they don't know where several of their favorite bloggers reside. So, given that there could be some geo-anonymous (is that a word?) bloggers in this area tha we missed, here is the list of bloggers mentioned by the people I asked.

It's not a comprehensive list. It's more about just seeing who others listed as their favorite *local* blogs.

(Oh BTW - I left out the Microsoft employees in the top list, as I was more interested in seeing who in the community is blogging. The MS list is at the bottom)

 

Shawn Wildermuth – http://www.adoguy.com

Jim Wooley – http://www.devauthority.com/blogs/jwooley

Todd Miranda - http://www.nxtdimension.com/blog/

Keith Elder - http://keithelder.net/blog/default.aspx

Keith Rome - http://www.mindfusioncorp.com/weblog

Dan Attis - http://devcow.com/blogs/jdattis/default.aspx

Jeff Barnes - http://jeffbarnes.net/portal/blogs/

Brendon Schwartz and Matt Ranlett - http://devcow.com/blogs/default.aspx

Robert Cain – http://www.arcanecode.com

Sean Gerety - http://ideakitchn.com/blogs/sean/default.aspx

Eric Marvets - http://marvets.com/blog/

Paul Wilson - http://weblogs.asp.net/pwilson/

James Shaw - http://coveryourasp.net/default.aspx

Greg Young – www.codebetter.com/blogs/gregyoung

Mickey Gousset - http://teamsystemrocks.com/default.aspx 

Barry Ralston - http://sqlbi.blogspot.com/

*

In addition, there was also some interest in finding out calendars of eventing in these states. So far, I've seen 3 calendars that appear to be kept current. I listed them below.

Some local event Calendars:

Atlanta - http://www.devcow.com

Birmingham - http://www.itsbits.com/mocalendar/

Huntsville - http://www.huntug.org/DesktopDefault.aspx

    

Finally, here are some of the Microsoft bloggers in the 3-state area (active blogs only):

Doug Turnure (you're reading it now :-) ) http://blogs.msdn.com/dougturn

Glen Gordon - http://blogs.msdn.com/glengordon

Chad Brooks - http://blogs.msdn.com/chabrook

Lewis Curtis - http://blogs.msdn.com/lcurtis

David Scruggs - http://blogs.msdn.com/dscruggs

Rob Cameron - http://blogs.msdn.com/robcamer

May have missed some folks, but I purposefully let other people send me the data for this, just to see who they mentioned.