Translate this site using Windows Live Translator:
More on Managing Contacts - A CRM Riff - Site Home - MSDN Blogs
A CRM Riff
It takes people to make the music of life

More on Managing Contacts

More on Managing Contacts

Rate This
  • Comments 1

Microsoft Outlook synchronizes Contacts that you own and contacts that are part of the local data group.  You can modify the local data group to include contacts other than those you own.

First, verify that you have set up your synchronization options to include Contacts.  This procedure is in the online Help topic: Set Personal Options.

Set synchronization options in Microsoft CRM client for Outlook

You can select which record types you want to synchronize between Outlook and Microsoft CRM client for Outlook and how often you want to synchronize between applications. This tab is only available in the Microsoft CRM client for Outlook.

1. Start Outlook with the Microsoft CRM client for Outlook installed.
2. On the CRM menu, click Options.
3. In the Set Personal Options dialog box, on the Synchronization tab, you can select which record types are synchronized:

• Appointments I'm attending -Select this option if you want to synchronize appointments in which you are a participant and have accepted the appointment.
• My Tasks - Select this option if you want to synchronize tasks that you own in Microsoft CRM.
• Contacts - Select this option if you want to synchronize contacts that you own in Microsoft CRM.

If you delete a contact you own in Microsoft CRM or in Microsoft CRM client for Outlook, it will not be deleted in the other application.
4. If the user has more than one computer running Microsoft CRM client for Outlook, you can select this computer to be synchronized automatically.
5. You can also define how often Microsoft CRM items in your Microsoft CRM client for Outlook folders are updated:

• Synchronize the CRM items in my Outlook folders every
Select this option and select the number of minutes, if you want to synchronize items in your Microsoft CRM client for Outlook folders more frequently than the default. Your system administrator can change the system default.
• Synchronize the items in my Outlook folder at startup
Select this option if you want to synchronize items in your Microsoft CRM client for Outlook folders as soon as you start Outlook.

6. Click OK to save your changes and close the dialog box.

To change the contacts that are synchronized, update the local data groups.

1. In Microsoft CRM client for Outlook on the CRM menu, click Local Data.
2. In the Local Data dialog box, on the Data Groups tab, do one of the following:

• To edit an existing data group, open the data group.
• To create a new data group, on the Actions toolbar, click New.
• To activate an inactive data group, on the Inactive Data Group tab, select the datagroup you want to activate, and then on the Actions toolbar, click the Activate button (a green circle with a green triangle). 

3. Click OK.

You should also review the section of the Synchronizing Information topic that discusses how contacts are deleted.

Deleting Records and Activities

You can delete records and activities in the Microsoft CRM client for Outlook. When the Microsoft CRM client for Outlook and Microsoft CRM synchronize (usually every 15 minutes), records that you delete in Microsoft CRM client for Outlook are also deleted in Microsoft CRM, with the following exceptions:

• If a contact is deleted in Outlook and the contact is not owned by you, the contact is deleted in Microsoft CRM and Microsoft CRM client for Outlook.
• If a contact is deleted in Outlook and is owned by you, the contact is not deleted in Microsoft CRM or Microsoft CRM client for Outlook, but the link is broken and the record is not updated or recreated in Outlook.
• If a contact is deleted in Microsoft CRM or Microsoft CRM client for Outlook and the contact is owned by you, it is not deleted in Outlook, but the link is broken and the record is not updated.
• When you delete an e-mail message, a contact, a completed task, or a past appointment or service activity in Outlook, it is not deleted in Microsoft CRM, but the link is broken.

However, if you delete a pending (incomplete) task or future appointment in Outlook, it is also deleted in Microsoft CRM.

  • You mention adding Contacts that you do not own by using the Local Data Settings.  Is there a security restriction that must accompany this change?

    We are setting up Local Data Groups that should bring in hundreds of contacts, but it seems the first filter of the synchronization is whether the user owns the Contact.  How do we open this up and allow them to synchronize to all Contacts, regardless of the owner?

Page 1 of 1 (1 items)
Leave a Comment
  • Please add 4 and 8 and type the answer here:
  • Post