Hi All,


I have been researching the updated Windows 2008 certification situation and here is what I’ve found:


There are 2 new 2008 certification paths that replace the previous MCSE path:


o    MCTIP – Microsoft Certified IT Professional 

§  The Enterprise Administrator is the option that is comparable to the MCSE in 2003 and earlier

§  For Windows Server 2008 Enterprise Admin you need to pass 5 exams (assuming you are not upgrading from 2003):

·         http://www.microsoft.com/learning/mcp/mcitp/windowsserver/2008/enterprise/default.mspx

·         1 Vista exam – your choice of 2 (70-620 or 70-624)

·         Windows Server 2008 Active Directory Configuration (70-640)

·         Windows Server 2008 Network Infrastructure Configuration (70-642)

·         Windows Server 2008 Applications Infrastructure Configuration (70-643)

·         Professional Series exam:  Windows Server 2008 Enterprise Admin (70-647)

·         NOTE:  Only the Vista exams are currently available.  70-640, 70-642 and 70-643 are due around March 10.  70-647 around the 1st week in April


o    MCTS – Microsoft Certified Technology Specialist  http://www.microsoft.com/learning/mcp/mcts/default.mspx

§  This can be attained with 1 test in many cases

§  Windows 2008 flavors include Active Directory Configuration and the other tests available for the MCTIP, listed above


Other good resources:


Microsoft Learning website:  http://www.microsoft.com/learning/default.mspx

Microsoft Certification overview:  http://www.microsoft.com/learning/mcp/default.mspx

Good Certification Blog Site:  http://blogs.msdn.com/trika/