You can download the PowerPoint version here 

Joel Reyes put together this infokit to help developers interested in building Windows Phone apps quickly get up to speed - it can also serve as a reference to developers already building apps. This is a collection of Tools, Training, Resources and Open Data references that should nicely augment the learning/development experience for public sector developers.

Tools

Windows Phone SDK /getphone – Phone development extensions for Visual Studio 2010

Windows Azure Toolkit for Windows Phone /azuretoolkit –Cloud services running in Windows Azure

Silverlight for Windows Phone Toolkit /sltoolkit – Additional Controls for WP application development

SketchFlow Template for Windows Phone /sketchflow – Creates prototype of a WP app quick and easy

Bing Maps Silverlight Control SDK /bing – Binaries & programming ref for the Bing Maps Silverlight Control

Windows Phone Icon Maker /icons – Make multiple icons necessary to build and publish WP Application

 

Training

Windows Phone Training Kit /trainingkit – All you need to get up to speed fast on building apps

Windows Phone Quickstars /quickstarts – Introduce the basics for creating WP applications

Windows Phone 7 Developer Guide /patterns – Best practices from Microsoft Patterns & Practices

Hello Windows Phone /hello – My first WP application

Windows Phone Jump Start Training /jumpstart – There are 12 sessions each about :50 minutes in length

Programming Windows Phone 7 /freebook – Free book - 24 chapters, about 1,000 pages

 

Resources

Developer Registration /register – It all starts here! Register as a developer and let’s build something!

Online Web Marketplace /marketplace – Find the WP app that is right for you

Citizen Apps Ideas /ideas –Forum for citizens/developers to share new phone ideas

Public Sector Blog /publicsector – Microsoft Public Sector Developer and Platform Evangelism team blog

Windows Phone Blog /phoneblog – Blog directly from the WP development team

Windows Phone Forum /forum – Discuss tools, general development issues and questions

 

Open Data

Open Government Initiative /usopen – President Obama’s Open Government Initiative

Data.Gov /datagov – Improve access to Federal data, expand creative use beyond government

World Bank Open Data /worldbank – Access to over 7,000 indicators from World Bank data sets

Open Government Data Initiative /ogdi – Publish/use a wide variety of public data from government agencies

Windows Azure Marketplace /azuredata – One-stop shop for premium data and applications

Open Data Protocol /odata – Web protocol for querying and updating data via URIs and HTTP

 


joel.reyes@microsoft.com

http://www.joelcitizen.com

Windows Phone Champ

DPE Public Sector