When you shutdown an Azure VM, you still get charged for usage.  That’s because the hardware for your VM is still allocated/dedicated to you.  It’s just not being used.  To prevent charges, you can delete the VM.  When you do that, your .vhd file(s) don’t’ get deleted.  Therefore, you can recreate the VM rather quickly when you want to start using it again. 

… read more …