Security Tips & Talk

Tips about computer security, online safety, and privacy

Think twice before you text that photo

Think twice before you text that photo

Rate This
  • Comments 3

Most of us already know this, but it’s worth repeating: When you email or text photos to another person, that person can save the pictures on his or her phone or hard drive forever.

New apps like Snapchat claim that there are ways to send photos so that they will automatically “disappear,” but people have found technical and nontechnical ways to get around this. For example, someone could simply use a camera phone to take a picture of a photo that is displayed on another phone screen.

Confused? You’re not the only one. Our friends at ConnectSafely have created a parents’ guide to Snapchat that provides tips and explanations for those who want to help protect their family.

Download the Parents’ Guide to Snapchat (PDF, 270 KB)

Want more information about how to help your family stay safe online? See Protecting young people.

Comments
  • If you are worried about the picture showing up on ABC News, don't take it.

  • Why even send a photo if you're worried what it might be used for?

  • So if I send you a photo attached to email, it'll disappear?  I worry as my niece sends me photos of her kids but there are times I will be away & have no access to email or computer. Will photos remain with email  until opened & read?

Page 1 of 1 (3 items)