Over time, you may accumulate a large number of workspaces and contacts. All of your workspaces and contacts are listed in the SharePoint Workspace Launchbar. Here are some different ways you can organize your workspaces and contacts.

Opening the SharePoint Workspace Launchbar

By default, the Launchbar opens when you start SharePoint Workspace. If SharePoint Workspace is already running, you can open the Launchbar by double-clicking the SharePoint Workspace icon in your Windows system tray:

If you’re in a workspace, you can open the Launchbar by clicking Home, and then Launchbar in the Go To group.

Organizing your workspaces

To change how workspaces are grouped in the Launchbar, click the View tab, click the Workspaces drop-down menu, and then select an option. The table below explains the grouping options.

Option

Details

Alphabetical

All workspaces are listed alphanumerically.

Folders

This option lets you create folders for grouping your workspaces – especially useful when you have many of them. To create a folder, on the View tab, click New Folder. Drag workspaces into folders.

Last Unread Time

This option groups workspaces according to their relative activity. Workspaces are grouped according to when they last received new or updated information. Workspaces that were created no more than 7 days ago are categorized as New.

Status

This option groups workspaces by status as follows:

· New. Workspaces that were created no more than 7 days ago are categorized as "New".

· Active. Groove workspaces that you or other members currently have open for reading or updating. SharePoint workspaces are not categorized under "Active" because you are always the only member.

· Unread. Workspaces containing new or updated information.

· Read. Workspaces that do not currently contain any unread content.

· Not On This Computer. Groove workspaces that you have on other computers. You can download the workspace data either from another computer that contains your account or from another workspace member.

You may also occasionally see workspaces grouped under these additional headings:

· Downloading: Workspaces that are currently being downloaded from another computer or workspace member.

· Suspended: Workspaces in which your membership has been suspended.

· Paused: Workspaces in which you have paused communications.

Type

This option groups workspace by type, as shown below:

Organizing your contacts

To change how contacts are grouped in the Launchbar, click the View tab, click the Contacts drop-down menu, and then select an option. The table below explains the sorting options.

Option

Details

Alphabetical

Contacts are listed alphabetically by first name.

Folders

This option lets you create folders for grouping your contacts – especially useful when you have many of them. To create a folder, on the View tab, click New Folder. Drag contacts into folders.

Status

This option groups contacts by status as follows:

· Active. Contacts who are currently online and active in one of your workspaces. To immediately go to the workspace, right-click the contact and then click Go to Active Workspace. If the selected member is active in several of your workspaces, a Select Workspace window opens and displays a list.

· Online. Contacts who are currently online.

Offline. Contacts who are currently offline. These contacts may still be available in Communicator.

Verification Status

This option groups members according to their verification status. Verification status reflects whether the identities of your SharePoint Workspace contacts have been verified, either by you, directly, or by your organization. Verifying contact identities reduces the risk of sharing sensitive information with unintended people.

For more information on verifying contact identities, see Managing Contacts in SharePoint Workspace Help.

Joe Levine