If you have ever wondered what the impact of the Reparent – Cascade All setting is, I will give you a brief explanation here.
Let’s say we have two CRM users in two different Business Units. User 1 has Parent: Child Business Units Read/Write Privilege at Contoso1 BU level, User 2 has Business Unit Read Privilege at Sales BU level.
Contoso1 BU is parent to Sales BU, which means User 2 cannot see User 1’s records:
In this scenario User 1 opens an Account which is owned by User 2, and adds a contact to it. Now, User 2 will be able to see this contact owned by User 1. Why? It’s because of the relationship behavior. By default Reparent option is set to Cascade All. With this out of the box setting, all child records will be shared with the owner of the parent record. In the background the same thing will happen as when users do a manual sharing with another user.
This is not the default setting for new relationships though, when you create new relationships the default Reparent option is set to Cascade None.
You might need to change the behavior if the outcome of this example is not what you want, or if users already have access to the child records through their security roles.
If you change the Relationship Behavior for existing relationships, the new settings will apply only for records created after the change.