I came across another phishing scam today, the spammer has gone to some trouble to ensure that his site looks legitimate.
The fake site
In the above, the words “Security Alert” are not centered, but that’s because I had to do a screen capture and move some stuff around, and forgot to re-center that part of the text. It should be centered and looking legitimate. Ditto for the grey ring around the Verisign logo.
The real site
You can see that the spammer has copied almost everything but added the extra KTT PIN in the logon box. That’s hardly a giveaway, however, because it is feasible that a bank might do something like that. It’s redundant, though. If you have the login information, then also having the PIN number is simply going for broke.
The phisher has put in four extra touches:
Phishing scams can sometimes be pretty easily to spot, but sometimes ones like these are more difficult. The only way you’d be able to see that this one wasn’t legitimate is by looking at the URL and seeing that it wasn’t the actual landing page of key.com.
This is like taking phishing to another level. A little more common sense and he/she might have a perfect phishing site.
I received an email from egg bank which seemed like a normal newsletter/marketting email. It didn't require me to do anything like change your pin/password etc. It was fantastically designed in HTML and had no spelling mistakes. I realized it was phishing email as Outlook doesn't show html emails unless you trust a sender. Since that email wasn't on my trusted senders list so it showed all the links. Looking at the html I found out that all the images were retrieved from egg.com but the links for logging in were from another website wasn't related to egg.com. I guess the phishing people are becoming clever.