TFS Update 2 Offers Settings Preservation for In-Place Upgrades

TFS Update 2 Offers Settings Preservation for In-Place Upgrades

Rate This
  • Comments 14

UPDATE: Beginning with TFS 2012 Update 3, we will preserve your settings in the AT-Only wizard too.  Build settings will also be preserved when upgrading Build servers.  This functionality is built into a pop-up on the first page of the Build wizard that asks if you would like to restore your previous settings (click yes).  Beginning with TFS 2013, Proxy settings - including multiple endpoints - will be preserved in the same fashion.

Great news!

Given the new, faster release cadence of updates for TFS 2012, there has been great demand for improvements to the upgrade process; namely, to minimize any manual steps it requires of the user.  We want as many people as possible to be able to benefit from the new features available in our updates, and those of you who decide to jump on the "update train" need to stay current.  So in Update 2 we have done work to automatically preserve a deployment’s application tier settings for in-place upgrades.  Anyone upgrading to Update 2 from a previous version of TFS 2012 will see their settings persisted right away; those upgrading from TFS 2010 will not immediately benefit from this feature in Update 2 but can expect us to start preserving their settings in all future in-place upgrades, even between major releases.

 

What exactly does that mean? 

It means that when you install Update 2 and launch the upgrade wizard, you should see all your old settings pre-populated there.  With the exception of entering account passwords, you can expect to be able to click Next-->Next-->Next all the way through to completion (however, you’re not off the hook for verifying what we’ve populated!).  It also means that we will now persist any SSL bindings and custom ports you had configured for TFS and will do our best to keep changes you made to the AT’s web.config file.  In TFS 2013, we have updated our settings persistence to persist host headers and DNS names too.

 

(After you install, TFS will automatically recognize that your server previously had an Application Tier configured.  It will point you to the Upgrade wizard, and when you start the wizard you will see a message that we are loading your settings.)

 

A few caveats

Before you run your in-place upgrade, you should know these 3 things.

  • For those of you upgrading from a previous version of TFS 2012: In the past our docs said to manually uninstall the old version of TFS before installing and upgrading with the new version.  As many of you probably know, this actually isn’t necessary if you are upgrading from an earlier release of TFS 2012.  In this case, installing Update 2 will automatically uninstall the pre-existing build from your server as part of the process.  If you want to see your settings preserved for Update 2, you must not perform a manual uninstall of your previous TFS 2012 instance.  In the automated uninstall phase we check for your old settings and store them off before the process blows them away.  If you do choose to manually uninstall TFS, we will not be able to start persisting your settings until the next time you upgrade.
    • NOTE: If you are on a 2012 deployment with multiple application tiers, you can opt to quiesce, rather than uninstall, all your ATs before upgrading.  From there, you should apply Update 2 to the first AT using the upgrade wizard and then install the update to your other ATs one at a time using the AT-only wizard.
  • To preserve your old AT web.config customizations, we have a whitelist of settings that we might expect users to change and will merge those into the new web.config file.  We will save your old web.config next to it with a new extension: web.config.sav.  You may want to compare the two files and pull in anything we missed.
  • We do not currently persist your build settings when you upgrade a build-only server.  We are working on this for our next major release.

 

We want your feedback

We hope these improvements make the upgrade experience much better for everyone.  Since the updates are now one of the main ways we service TFS, this is a feature we hope to continue refining in the future.  If you notice any strange behavior or settings we’ve missed, we’d like to hear about it.  Comment below or send mails to TFCARE at Microsoft dot com.

Leave a Comment
  • Please add 7 and 1 and type the answer here:
  • Post
  • Thank you guys! This really really really improves the install experience. This was my number 1 ask, having to enter the service account credentials & settings every time was a pain.

  • Ah, good old Next -> Next -> Next. :)

  • great news

  • Will we have to re-enter the build\test service accounts for the build controller and test controllers when we upgrade to Update 2?  

  • @Scott - Yes you will.  We aren't persisting build or test settings yet, tt's on our backlog for our future releases.  But even then if there is a password associated with these accounts the user would need to enter that (for security reasons).

  • Andrea,

    I installed Update 2 CTP 4 and now I am unable to start the build service/controller/agent which were working before the upgrade.  I documented the issue here... social.msdn.microsoft.com/.../4e4f3b0c-b41f-4ce7-86be-c17c2b19b5f5

    can you take a look and let me know if this is a know issue or where I can go to get assistance with this issue.

    Thanks

    -- Steven

  • Hi Steven - I've forwarded the link to your Forums post to the Build leads.  They should be able to help you get that working again.

  • Actually, when I want to upgrade my TFS SharePoint Extensions from Update1.Patch2 to Update2, on the dedicated sharepoint servers. I got only this:

    TF400638 : Team Foundation Server SharePoint Extensions has been detected. You cannot install Team Foundation Server while Team Foundation Server SharePoint Extensions is installed.

  • Okay I see. I have to upgrade that extension separately lol.

  • @Allen, in your SharePoint machine if you have TFS SharePoint Extensions 2012 RTM or 2012 Update 1 you will see that message if you are using the TFS Server 2012 Update 2 setup. You should use the TFS SharePoint Extensions 2012 Update 2 setup.

  • If I want to proceed with in-place upgrade from TFS 2010 sp1 to TFS 2012 update 2 (without upgrading to TFS 2012 RTM first), do I need to uninstall old TFS version as it was required for TFS 2010 -> TFS 2012 RTM upgrade steps sequence?

  • Hi Mikhail - Yes, you must always uninstall TFS 2010 prior to upgrading to a future version of TFS.  Our auto-uninstall feature only works when upgrading from TFS 2012 RTM or higher.

  • A couple of questions to TFS2012 Update 3 on an installation with multiple app tiers (and TFS20120 Update 2):

    * Is it necessary to quiesce all app tier servers before upgrading from Update 2 to Update 3? Or is preventing users access enough?

    * Is the installation still: Upgrade wizard on first app tier and then AT-Only wizard on the rest?

  • @Jorn - It is still best practice to quiesce any additional Application Tiers you have prior to upgrading your deployment.  Yes, the installation process is still to use the Upgrade wizard on the first AT and the AT-Only wizard on subsequent ones.  Both wizards will persist settings.

Page 1 of 1 (14 items)